A Short Time.

I am here at the place where you left me.I didn’t think that I’d be so nervous coming back here.

We sat by the window and you told me how you loved the view, how you always made sure you sat where you could see it.

You told me that sometimes you’d eat here alone.

I remember how nervous we both were, how we kept covering our mouths with our hands. 

I was so nervous cause I was sick, and I was afraid you’d notice. 

You were so funny, I was afraid I’d have a coughing fit so I tried not to laugh too much.

I was so nervous I didn’t finish my food because my stomach was in knots.

I was so nervous I told my best friends about you.

I thought you were deserving of that honor.

You told me little snippets of your life, and I remember wishing I was part of them.

I remember hoping that I could be part of your future.

Then we left and I wish I had the guts to hold your hand.

I had no idea then that I was never gonna be able to hold them again.

When we left, I couldn’t even look at you.

My heart was racing and my cheeks were hurting.

You couldn’t look at me, either.

I saw the shy glances you took and I could tell you wanted to hold my hand, too.

A few days later, I would hear nothing but silence from you.

It used to bug the hell out of me.

Now it doesn’t anymore.

Not as much, anyway.

I don’t know what happened, if it was something I did or something else that happened.

Maybe I was the step you needed to figure out you were sure about someone else.

Maybe you just didn’t like me enough.

I guess I’ll never know.

But thank you for the short time of happiness you gave me.

I will always look back at our memories, no matter how shallow or short they may be, with fondness.

It’s good to know there are people like you out there, people I can learn to love someday.

It makes heartbreak worth it.

A lot of my friends tell me that what you did was “douche-y,” and I agree.

(Sorry, but it really kinda was)

But I don’t think you’re a bad guy. 

Not at all. Not even close.

I’m glad that we had our time together.

It was good while it lasted – in fact, it was amazing.

Maybe it was meant to stay that way.

Maybe we were just meant to be together for a short while.

Star-crossed kids, lost in the heat of the moment that lasted until the clock struck 12.

Leave a Reply

